Things You Should Know If You Leave Family Sharing

By | February 22, 2019

get help if you leave family sharing

Part one: How to leave your family group on your iPhone/iPad/iPod touch?

  • Any family member over the age of 13 can remove themselves from a family group.
  1. Go to Settings > [your name] > Family Sharing. If you’re using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings > iCloud > Family.
  2. Tap [your name].
  3. Tap Leave Family.
  • If you’re the family organizer, you can remove members at any time.
  1. Go to Settings > [your name] > Family Sharing. If you’re using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings > iCloud > Family.
  2. Tap the name of the family member that you want to remove.
  3. Tap Remove.
  • Remove your account from a family group.

If your Apple ID is being used to share purchases with a family group that you no longer want to be part of, you can visit your Apple ID account page and remove the account from the family directly.

  1. Go to appleid.apple.com and sign in with the Apple ID and password for the account you want to remove.
  2. In the Family Sharing section, choose Remove Account > Remove.
  3. After you leave the family group, you can start your own family group or join another one.
  • Disband a family group

When the family organizer turns off Family Sharing, it removes all family members from the family group at once. If there are children under 13 in your family group, you must transfer them to another family before you can disband yours.

  1. Go to Settings > [your name] > Family Sharing. If you’re using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings > iCloud > Family.
  2. Tap your name as the organizer.
  3. Tap Stop Family Sharing.

Part two: What happens to your content when you stop sharing?

  • Your Apple ID is removed from the family group and you won’t have access to any services shared by your family.
  • Any content that your family shared with you isn’t automatically removed from your device.
  • Any DRM-protected music, movies, TV shows, books, or apps that you previously downloaded from other family member’s collections are no longer usable.
  • You’ll keep any purchases you initiated while part of the family group.
  • If you share a photo album, calendar, or reminders with family members, you won’t share them anymore.

Also read: How to extract part of data from iCloud without restoring?

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.